Jonathan Aberdein (299), Dino Stermin (247) and Umpie Swart (239) shared spectacular Max Challenge Wins.

Anyone who had the pleasure to attend the fourth round of the Western Cape Karting Championship will attest that it was a great day’s racing peppered by wildcard winners, upsets and brilliant on track action all day long.

It’d be a trick to pick the race of the day, but the often pedestrian Max Challenge 125s certainly stood out among a day of highlights. Championship leader Dino Stermin (Designer Trims RKT Kosmic) and his closest Dino Delano Fowler (Suprocom WOrr FA) arrived at the circuit to find a pair of ominous wildcards entered in their class in CRG duo, reigning WP class champion Jonathan Aberdein back in the country on holiday from his German ADAC Formula 4 campaign and Umpie Swart, taking a break from Polo Cup action this weekend.

It proved a head to head of extreme entertainment as Swart and Aberdein stole the first heat from Stermin with Fowler in close attendance, before Stermin struck back to take a stunning race 2 from Fowler and Aberdein. But Aberdein made no mistakes to lead the final from flag to flag from Stermin, Swart and Fowler. Stermin however did brilliantly to win the day from Aberdein, Swart, Fowler, Nicholas Jacobs and Marco Joos, with just two points separating the top three. 

Charl Visser (3), Joseph Oelz (63) and Troy Dolinschek (17) took turns to in win Maxterino.

The high school Rotax Junior Max 125s also delivered an epic battle that raged throughout the day, but it was Sebastian Boyd who came out tops aboard his Boyd Freight Kosmic with two wins to one over championship leader Jason Coetzee (RKT Kosmic) and Dario Busi, who fought hard to put his Automan Birel third in a supremely competitive class. Aidan Strydom (TurboTech CRG) drove a clever trio of races to edge out the injured Andrew Rackstraw (Tony), and unlucky Daniel Duminy (Kosmic), who fell victim to some hectic midfield action.

The ever-spectacular 60cc primary school Cape Maxterinos delivered three winners on the day, but race 2 victor Charl Visser (Battery Energy Zanardi) was the most consistent to take overall honours from race 1 winner Joseph Oelz (Zanardi), Jason MacBeath (Zanardi), Kai Van Zijl (CRG) and Zanardi duo Kyle Visser and Nicholas Sage, while Troy Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic) took the race 3 win.

Paul Malcolm (Charl Electric) continued his winning ways to take overall honours in the smallest under-8 Cadet class, although he had a problem in race 1 to allow Joaquin de Oliveira to take the first race win. Reese Koorzen ended up second overall in another busy afternoon from and Joshua Smit, Reza Levy (Jive), de Oliveira who’s day went backwards after that first win and Mishca Williams who battled a down on power engine.

Jason Coetzee (446) leads Dan Duminy (442), JP Hamman (447) and the day’s winner Seb Boyd (469) in Junior Max.

It was a far more straightforward affair in the DD2 gearbox class, where former WP champion Jonathan Thomas (Partners CRG) cantered to a trio of victories ahead of a three-way three-race tussle settled in favour of Tristan de Nobrega (Race Driver SA CRG), who beat CRG quartet Hilton Peters, Delano Fowler, Jonathan Aberdein and Chad Daniel to second. Kian van der Merwe beat Isabelle Fowler two races to one to take Clubman honours ahead of Class B winner Jody van Rensburg.

The Cape’s top karters now head to iDube in KZN this weekend for the third round of the SA National Karting Championship and then the National Final at Vereeniging a month later, before returning to commence the second half of the WP championship on 30 July.


Issued on behalf of the WPMC Kart Club