CRG SmallJason Coetzee, Dino Stermin, Jonathan Thomas and Joaquin d'Oliveira were crowned 2016 Western Cape Karting Champions at Killarney on Saturday, while Jody van Rensburg and the Visser brothers Charl and Kyle took the three club titles to conclude on the day. Only the Maxterino crown remains to be decided following an outstanding technical enquiry.


The Cape karters assembled at Killarney on a bright but blustery Saturday 29 October, where some titles were a mere formality while others were closer fought. Jason Coetzee (RKT Kosmic) basically had to start all three races to win the WP high school Junior Max 125cc championship, but that was never going to be enough for the Durbanville schoolboy reeled of two wins and a second on the day to put his stamp of authority on the high school title.


Dario Busi (Automan CRG) meanwhile won his last kart race before the 14-year old steps up to the main circuit in GTi Challenge next year, but that was not enough to topple Sebastian Boyd (Boyd Boss Freight Kosmic) from second in the title chase. Simon Simpson-Heath (SAKRA Kosmic) upset the applecart behind with a best-ever fourth in class ahead of Andrew Rackstraw and Aidan Strydom to take third, but that was not enough to steal the championship fourth from Rackstraw (TonyKart) or Strydom (TurboTech CRG), but Simpson-Heath did jump to sixth in the championship chase in the end.

Dino Stermin (Designer Trims RKT Kosmic) added a back-to-back WP 125cc open Senior Max title to his Junior championship last year, but he did not have an easy day of it as wildcard Luke Herring came back to win the class on the day with race 2 and 3 wins aboard his Kosmic from race 1 winner Stermin, championship runner-up Delano Fowler (Suprocom WOrr FA) and Umpie Swart (CRG) following an intriguing daylong battle. Cate Walker made a welcome karting comeback in fifth on a SAKRA Kosmic ahead of Arnold du Toit, who ended third in the championship chase.

A dominant triple victory for Julian van der Watt (RKT Kosmic) was not enough to wrest a second WP DD2 gearbox kart title away from Jonathan Thomas (Partners Hair CRG) or second from Tristan de Nobrega (Race Driver SA CRG), who respectively ended second and third on the day and first and second in the title race as van der Watt was unable to make up the points deficit after he missed a meeting earlier in the season. Somerset West's British Formula 3 racer, Eugene Denyssen made a welcome return to his roots in fourth from Christopher Vrettos and Chad Daniels.WC Cape Small

There was a surprise in baby under-8 year old Cadet class when Joshua Smit emerged the triple-winner on the day to leave Joaquin de Oliveira to pip Paul Malcolm (FastOil/Charl Electric) to the championship post, even though Paul beat Joaquin to second on the day. Reese Koorzen's fourth place on the day was just enough to prevent Smit from nabbing a championship third, while Reza Levy beat Ethan Deacon to fifth.

The primary school Maxterino 60cc championship is still to be decided in a courtroom, but Joseph Oelz (Zanardi) won the day as one of three drivers to share wins alongside race 1 winner Charl Visser (Battery Energy RKT Kosmic) and race 3 victor Troy Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic). The consistent Kai Van Zijl (CRG) however took second on the day from Visser, Jason MacBeath (Zanardi), younger Visser brother Kyle (Zanardi) and Dolinschek. Either Oelz or Charl Visser will become champion once an appeal over a technicality on Visser's kart from an earlier meeting is resolved.

Three Cape Club titles were also decided on Saturday as Jody van Rensburg wrapped up the overall and Class A Cape Clubmans title, with Andrew Thomas and Marchant Bellingan second and third overall as they took the respective Class B and C Clubmans championships. Visser brothers Charl and Kyle wrapped up the respective inaugural Mini and Micro Max titles as Charl beat Kai Van Zyl and Joseph Oelz to Mini honours and Kyle followed Julius Schweiger and Reza Levy home in Micro on the day.

247 SmallThe Cape karters will return to action early in 2017, likely with a slightly different look to the bottom end of the championship as the Micro and Mini classes gain traction and various drivers move up into new age classes to as ever, provide South African motorsport with a consistent supply of top Cape racing talent.