Kart 242: Julian van der Watt put one over Jonathan Aberdein in Senior Max - Image Mark ZeemanChanging conditions, a delayed race program and multiple winners in all but one of the classes dominated the headlines at an inclement WP Regional Karting round at Killarney on Saturday. 

Stellenbosch lad Delano Fowler was the one to break that trend in a dominant high school Junior Max 125cc performance aboard his Suprocom TonyKart with a fine trio of wins, twice ahead of Dino Stermin (Designer Trims Kosmic) and once over Sebastian Boyd (Boyd Freight Kosmic). Fowler beat Boyd and Jason Coetzee (RKT Kosmic) to overall honours, with Stermin and Giordano Lupini (AutoWeek CRG) sharing fourth ahead of TonyKart duo Dario Busi and Andrew Rackstraw.

Kart 411: Delano Fowler dominated Junior Max - Image - Heinrich SauerJulian van der Walt (Zanardi) among several double-winners on the day taking top honours four times with a couple of wins each in both the Max Challenge 125s and IAME X30 gearbox classes. He beat brothers, race 1 winner Kohen (SAKRA FA) and Henry Bam (SAKRA Kosmic), a troubled Luke Herring (RKT Kosmic), visiting Keagan Blackensee (Tony) and Jacques De Bruyn (Kosmic) in a tough day’s X30 racin

Van der Watt also put one over Jonathan Aberdein (Tony Kart) to beat the championship leader two races to one in the Max Challenge 125cc races, with David Perel (Kartsport Zanardi) and Isabelle Fowler (Suprocom TonyKart) scrapping heavily over fourth ahead of Christopher Vrettos and Tom Lautenbach

Kart 63: A startline infringement cost Joseph Oelz Maxterino honours - Image - Mark ZeemanAberdein however overcame a first race spin to beat race 1 winner Jonathan Thomas (Partners Hair CRG) and Joshua Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic) to Rotax DD2 gearbox class honours. Marco Busi (CRG) was fourth ahead of Jurie Swart (Indy Oil Birel) and Masters Class winner Johan Hamman. Aberdein and Perel now both head to Italy for respective Euro kart and Italian GT duty this coming weekend

On a day of little other controversy, race 3 winner Charl Visser (Battery Energy Zanardi) benefited primary school Maxterino 60cc race 1 winner and first home in race 2, Joseph Oelz (Clear CRG) suffering a harsh official startline infringement call to drop him five places and hand two race to one overall honours to Visser. Oelz ended second for the day over Aidan Strydom (Turbo Tech Top Kart), Troy Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic), Kai van Zyl (UAP Zanardi) and Simon Simpson-Heath (SAKRA Kosmic)

Joaquin De Oliveira (Spongebob), Kyle Visser (Battery Energy) and Valentino Hoffman (GP Energy) won a race apiece to occupy the respective steps of the baby under-8 Cadet 50 podium. Jason MacBeath was fourth ahead of Mischa Williams and top newcomer Reeze Koorzen

The Cape Clubmen enjoyed the harshest of the changeable conditions, which rendered the first race a lottery, but Dylan Mitchell (Dolphin Engineering TonyKart) emerged the overall winner on the day with Harry Georgiou (Flatline CRG) taking class B and Andrew Thomas (Blake Bros. Intrepid) Class C

The third round of the WP Regional Championships will be slap in the middle of winter for Karting’s shortest day on Saturday 20 July.