Kart 27 Aberdein and Swarts DD2 wrought allowed Jono Thomas behind to sneak the win pic Heinrich SauerA perfect day witnessed fraught action as the third round of the Western Province Karting championship went down at Killarney on Saturday.

Kart 5 Aidan Strydom fought hard to beat Joseph Oelz in Maxterino pic Heinrich SauerAidan Strydom (Turbo Tech Top Kart) turned in perhaps the most impressive of several star drives on the day to deliver three fine primary school Maxterino 60cc class wins, two of which were easy but the third saw the youngster come out on top of a splendid race-long fight with Joseph Oelz (Clear/GoPro CRG) who emerged second overall with two second places to Charl Visser’s one. Troy Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic) impressed with his progress to take fourth from Tyler Croy (Zanardi), Tate Bishop (Kosmic) and Kai Van Zijl (CRG).

Kart 60 Valentino Hoffman heads to under-8 year old Cadet victory pic Heinrich SauerValentino Hoffman (GP Topkart) took two wins to Joaquin De Oliveira’s one to secure baby kart under-8 Cadet honours on the day from De Oliveira (Topkart), with Kyle Visser (Battery Topkart) third from Reese Koorzen, Mischa Williams, the rapidly improving Reza Levy and Jason MacBeath who endured a troubled afternoon in seventh.

Dino Stermin (Designer Trims RKT Kosmic) made best of an eventful high school 125cc Junior Max scrap to beat Delano Fowler (Suprocom TonyKart) two wins to one with Jason Coetzee a short head behind in third after taking a couple of second places. Dario Busi (Automan Tony Kart) made best of a fraught midfield battle to take fourth from Giordano Lupini, who managed to put his AutoWeek CRG on pole position for the second heat, while Sebastian Boyd (Boyd Freight Kosmic) bounced back from being taken out of race 2 to end sixth from Andrew Rackstraw (TonyKart).   

The Rotax DD2 action was just as fraught as Jonathan Thomas (Partners CRG) emerged the winner of a series of races that saw wild action between Umpie Swart (Indy Oil Birel) and Jonathan Aberdein (TonyKart) with each of those three taking a heat win apiece. Aberdein was however excluded from race 2 to allow Swart up to second from Masters winner Johan Hamman (Hammanshof Birel), Tristan de Nobrega (Kartsport CRG), Aberdein and Marco Busi (Automan/Topwatch CRG).

Aberdein (TonyKart) made no mistakes in the 125cc Max Challenge race, where he romped to a trio of dominant wins over the ever-improving David Perel (Kartsport Zanardi) as he continues to use local karting to hone his skills for his Italian Lamborghini GT championship duties. Henry Bam (SAKRA Kosmic) had to work hard for third from Isabelle Fowler             (Suprocom TonyKart) and Byron Mitchell (Dolphin CRG) with Christopher Vrettos (PCR) sixth. 

An early race 1 bath put paid to Kohen Bam’s chances of taking overall X30 Shifter honours aboard his SAKRA FA, but two victories in the following heats were enough to see him take a close second overall from Julian van der Watt (Zanardi) with Luke Herring (RKT Kosmic) close behind in third. Jacques De Bruyn (Kosmic), Henry Bam (SAKRA TonyKart) and Werner Grundlingh were next up.

The Cape Clubmen put on their usual enthusiastic and entertaining display as Dayne Angel (Flatline Birel) emerged victorious overall from Christopher Vrettos (PCR) and Dylan Mitchell (Dolphin TonyKart), while James Fraser ended on top of a close class B fight over Harry Georgiou (CourierIt/Nano CRG) and Arnold du Toit (Arrow). Andrew Thomas (Blake Bros. Intrepid) beat Philip Avenant (CRG) and Malizole Mdlekezato (Zanardi) to class C honours.

Many of Cape Town’s karters now pack their bags for the national at Vereeniging, where they will be out to maintain several championship advantages over their various upcountry rivals on 4 July before returning to Killarney for the fourth round of the WP regional championship on 22 August.