Kart 27 Jonathan Aberdien will prepare for Portugal at Killarney Pic Heinrich SauerWP’s best karters to race at home before jetting off to Rotax Max World Finals

Three of Cape Town’s best kart racers will be using Saturday 21 October’s penultimate Western Cape Karting Championship round at the Killarney Kart Track as final preparation before they set off to do battle in Portugal a week later.

Kart 447 Dino Stermin and Delano Fowler will prepare for world action in local battle Pic Heinrich SauerTwo of them, Delano Fowler (Suprocom TonyKart), who earned his way to Portugal by winning the recent African Open in the class, and newly crowned SA high school Rotax Junior Max 125cc champion Dino Stermin (Designer Trims RKT Kosmic) must first continue their fraught Cape title battle before setting off, with the pair currently split by just ten points. Rest assured that Jason Coetzee (Kosmic), Sebastian Boyd (Boyd Freight Kosmic), Dario Busi (Automan Birel) and Andrew Rackstraw (TonyKart) will all be doing their level best to beat both those drivers on Saturday.   

Another Cape driver heading to the world finals is new SA Max Challenge champion Jonathan Aberdein (TonyKart), who will want to cement his WP Max Challenge title advantage before he leaves. Aberdein will however have Umpie Swart (Indy Oil Birel), Henry Bam (SAKRA Kosmic), Byron Mitchell (Dolphin CRG), Isabelle Fowler (Suprocom TonyKart) Christopher Vrettos (PCR) and Cape Town’s Italian GT racing star David Perel (Zanardi) chasing his hide at Killarney first.

Aberdein will also be working on closing the gap to the front in the WP Rotax DD2 gearbox class, where he sits 32 points behind Umpie Swart (Indy Oil Birel) in that title race, but Aberdein still has the benefit of not having to drop any points in his chase after missing a round, while Swart must still do that. Jonathan Thomas (Partners CRG) splits Swart and Aberdein (TonyKart) in that title chase, while Tristan de Nobrega (Kartsport CRG), Marco Busi (Automan/Topwatch CRG) and Masters driver Johan Hamman (Hammanshof Birel) will continue their tight fight for fourth.

Things remain close in the baby Cadet 50cc class where four drivers are split by just 12 points on top of the title table. Jason MacBeath (Topkart) leads Kyle Visser (Battery Energy Topkart), Valentino Hoffman (GP Topkart) and Joaquin De Oliveira, with Paul Malcolm, Reese Koorzen, Mischa Williams and Reza Levy also all capable of winning there.

Aidan Strydom (Turbo Tech Topkart) enjoys a 20-point lead over Joseph Oelz (Clear/GoPro Zanardi), with Charl Visser (Battery Zanardi) a further 7 points adrift in the primary school Maxterino 60cc class, while Tate Bishop (Kosmic), Troy Dolinschek (Makita Kosmic), Kai Van Zijl (CRG), Tyler Croy (Zanardi)  and Simon Simpson-Heath (SAKRA Topkart) are all battling for fourth just behind.

The Cape Clubmen are also involved in a tight title tussle with Chris Vrettos, Dayne Angel and Dylan Mitchell battling over Class A, James and David Fraser and Andrew Thomas in the Class B title chase and Class C racer John Wylie also close by in that title chase.

Killarney Raceway is on Potsdam Road Killarney Gardens and the kart track is situated across the main circuit from the main pit complex, where you can expect brilliant racing, a cool atmosphere, good commentary and great grub and drinks at the Kart Café in the pits. Adult entry is R60 per adult. R20 for under-16s and under-12s are free.

See you at the Killarney karts!