Wall-to-wall action in the Cape

Picture by Heinrich SauerThe local open class action was all about Jason Coetzee, who took advantage of his teammate Jurie Swart dropping out of race 1 with gearbox selector trouble to take DD2 victory for the day. Swart went on to dominate the second and third races, while Coetzee fought Sebastian Boyd, while Boyd took third overall on a tie break over Jarryd Evans. Gary Lennon meanwhile took triple DD2 Masters wins to take an entertaining madala class for the day over Roy Gruer and Ernst Viljoen.

19206Jason Coetzee made it a double for the day with a triple Senior Max victory over Andrew Rackstraw, who survived a late heat 1 incident with a kart crawling on the race line and a resultant nose cone penalty to beat Storm Lanfear to second. Reece Oellermann was third from the ever-improving Andrew Thomas, with lady karter Jade Lanfear fifth from Jozi visitor Wayland Wyman, who retired after the first race.

Joseph Oelz enjoyed a fraught dice with Charl Visser and Tate Bishop for the first part of the under-15 high school Junior Max race 1, before clearing off to score a dominant triple victory over Visser, Troy Dolinschek and Bishop. Simon Simpson-Heath fended off Jozi visitor Aqil Alibhai for fifth with Kai van Zijl next up from Luca Wehrli, Denis Joubert, Sibo Solomon and Tristan Galp.

Picture by Heinrich SauerIn primary school action, younger Visser brother Kyle won all three under-13 Mini Max races after fighting off second placed Joaquin de Oliveira in race 2, while Mikhail Fernandez took the final race second for third on the day ahead of Andre and Kyle le Riche and Luke Oellerman.

Picture by Heinrich SauerReese Koorzen was another driver to win all three of his races of the day in under-11 Micro Max, but not without first fighting off a feisty Reza Levy each time. Ethan Stier beat Paul Malcolm, Joshua Smit and Mischa Williams to third, as Julian Booysen, Ethan Lennon and Conner Rensburg kept a watching brief.


Picture by Heinrich Sauer Ian Joubert kept the triple-win trend alive in under-8 Cadets, beating Rayan Karriem and Luan Mostert to the top step of the podium, with Matthew Smit taking fourth on a count-back over Eric Norman.


Picture by Heinrich SauerJohan Hamman closed off the day’s action with a two win to one Cape Clubmans victory over race 3 winner Harry Georgiou, while Jared Jordan continued with his steady improvement of late en route top third. Andre Steenkamp ended up on top of a tight midfield spat over Ryan Buda, Michael Jordan and Dylan Dawes with Robert Peche next home ahead of the returning Isabelle Fowler and Rory d’Arcy.

The WP championships resume with round 5 at the end of July before the Rotax Max Challenge national championship visits Cape Town on 11 August.