Rivals out to stop Gauteng Rotax Max dominance

The second round of the 2019 Northern Regions Rotax Max Karting Championships heads to the Zwartkops International Kart Raceway Saturday 2 March with drivers in most classes keen to overcome drivers who delivered dominant performances at Vereeniging last time.
The premier Rotax Max DD2 class was an exception at Vereeniging, as consistent duo Justin Allison and Brandon Smith shared out the second places to stand on the top two steps of the podium after third-placed Nick Verheul hit trouble. And with chargers Bradley Liebenberg and Ivana Cetinich racing on the main circuit this weekend it’s time for all the above, as well as Carlo Olivier, Pascal Acquaah, Jamie Smith, Jeandre le Roux and the rest to make hay while the sun shines.
Philippe Chapat and Mitch Coetzee are set to continue their tiff in the old man's DD2 Masters, but expect Steve Beaumont and Tinahe Ncube to apply the pressure there.
Reigning NR champion Wayland Wyman dominated Senior Max at Vereeniging, so Dane van Heerde, East London lass Shannon Jackson, Jurgen Pommersheim, Nick Verheul, Shrien Naidoo and Taiibi Tucci will be out for revenge. Erwin Sterne will meanwhile be out to repeat his Max 175 win last time out.
Kwanda Mokoena is another driver with a target on his back in under-15 Junior Max, so expect Leyton Fourie, Ethan Coetzee, newcomer Lorenzo Cianfanelli, Jordan Brooks and Aqil Alibhai to fight back at Zwartkops, while Kgalema Mngadi, Godfrey Malumane and Ndumiso Bungane will also be keen to shine in Pretoria.
Troy Snyman dominated under-13 Mini Max at Vereeniging, but he will have a very motivated Micro Max champion Mohammed Wally, never mind Bjorn Bertholdt and Matthew Morrell to deal with in Pretoria. Taya van der Laan, Mandla Mlangeni, Seth Gomez, Ghazi Motlekar, Nathan Shana and Tyler Robinson are all chasing for best results at Zwartkops too.
Mohammed Moerat took no prisoners in under-12 Micro Max, so Dhivyen Naidoo and Luviwe Sambudla will be out to get him. Don’t forget Kyle Beukes, Erich Heystek, Kent Swartz, Wian Boshoff, Caleb Cotterell and Hriday Pooren; Anesu Maphumulo, Caleb Odendaal, Ntyiyiso Mabunda and Mahlori Motlhabani among this lot.
Under-10 Bambino champion Tshepang Shisinwana may prove hard to beat in the karting kindergarten, but Troy van der Laan, Caleb Odendaal, Keegan Beaumont and newcomers Cristian Verheul and Aiden Beaumont will be giving their all to stop him on Saturday.
The Zwartkops International Kart Raceway is located behind the main circuit pits - find Zwartkops on the R55 just outside Laudium, Pretoria. Entrance is free and the facility offers great grub and all amenities at the clubhouse.