It’s been a short two week break since the last round, but Cape Town’s karters are limbering up for renewed action at Killarney’s penultimate seventh-round Western Province Karting Championship races Saturday 8 September. Most title chases are very much in the balance as drivers also round off their preparations for the South African Rotax Max Challenge Finals at the end of the month, so the sparks are quite likely to fly.   
Teammates Jurie Swart and Jason Coetzee continue their fight for this year’s premier WP DD2 gearbox title as Swart also prepares to mount a national fight back. They will have the likes of Dino Stermin, who returned to the fold more recently, Jonathan Thomas, Jarryd Evans and Sebastian Boyd to keep them honest, while Masters driver Jacques De Bruyn will be keen to continue off his impressive return last time out against fellow old men, Roy Gruer and Gary Lennon.
Jason Coetzee and Andrew Rackstraw have enjoyed a great fight at the head of the WP open Senior Max championship so far this season and there’s no reason why they should not continue trading wins on a race by race basis again in the spring meeting, which should see them racing through the Killarney daisies on Saturday. That is of course unless Tristan De Nobrega, Harry Georgiou, Reece Oellermann, Andrew Thomas or Ziyaad Ibrahim have anything to say about it. 
There’s an interesting situation playing out in the WP under-fifteen Junior Max title race, where Cape championship leader Joseph Oelz lost points to race winners Troy Dolinschek and SA championship leader Charl Visser and Tate Bishop last time out, but don’t discount Kai van Zijl, Sibo Solomon, newcomer Mikaeel Moolla, Luca Wehrli or Tristan Galp in that fight.
Kyle Visser leads the under-13 Mini Max championship quite comfortably, but he knows he can never rest with Mikhail Fernandez, Joaquin de Oliveira, Jason MacBeath and brothers Kyle and Andre Le Riche all right on his case. Visser also leads the WP under-13 Mini Rok title chase, where he must deal with quick kids Jason MacBeath, Lucas Royston, Mikhail Fernandez, Paul Malcolm and Joshua Smit to be sure to maintain the advantage.
It’s tight in under-11 Micro Max too, where Reza Levy and Reese Koorzen are fighting it out with the three Ethans; Stier Lennon and Deacon, while Joshua Smit and Julian Booysen also in that picture. Luan Mostert may have won the day among the under-8 Bambinos last time out, but Ian Joubert and Eric Norman are both ahead of him in the Cape’s littlest karting title chase and Rayan Karriem and Matthew Smit are both ready to deliver too.
Johan Hamman, Mario Ras and Harry Georgiou have been the men to beat in recent WP Clubmans races, but brothers Jared and Michael Jordan, Andre Steenkamp and Ryan Buda are all keen to upset the applecart there, with one or two other clubbies likely to be back in the fray with the promise of finer spring weather conditions after the challenges of a cold, wet Cape karting winter.
So it's all to do across the board and that means it certainly will be worth the trip to the Killarney Kart Track for the penultimate round 7 of the WP championships come Saturday 8 September - the Kart Track is on the infield, there’s good grub and refreshments available in the Karting Clubhouse, informative commentary and a cool atmosphere in the kart pits — certainly worth the visit…